st.anne's college of engineering and technology (3860) About
- Counseling Code: 3860
- ESTD Year: 2009
- District: CUDDALORE
- Type: Self Finance
- Courses Offered: Bachelors Degree (UG)
- Website: www.stannescet.ac.in
About st.anne's college of engineering and technology (3860):
ST.ANNE'S COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY (3860), Provides education from the year of 2009 and its under the Anna University Self Finance category which is offered various courses in Bachelors Degree (UG) of engineering degree.
The Congregation of the sisters of St. Anne of Tiruchirapalli had its origin in the 19th century, when child marriage and consequential early widowed were rampant even among the Catholics. Widows were treated as outcasts and inauspicious and subjected to untold suffering and inhuman treatment besides the social stigma stamped on them. Our Foundress, Rev. Mother Annammal was born in 1836 at Varaganeri, Palakarai, Tiruchirapalli, Tamil Nadu, India. Owing to cholera, many young girls, including our foundress, were widowed and treated worse than slaves by their families. The society didn’t permit them to remarry. Our Foundress heard the divine call to bring succor to widows. She courageously went about begging for the sick and the needy, educating the little ones and praying with the Sakkiliar community. Inspired by her service, many young widows joined her. As the number grew, she approached the Bishop of Tiruchirapalli His Excellency Bishop Alexis Canoz S.J. to start a community for the widows. Due to financial difficulties the permission was denied. But she assured him that she would not ask for any financial aid and begged for permission which is granted later. The vibrant and burning urge of a single woman sowed the first seed for the vocation of the Congregation of the Sisters of St. Anne, Tiruchirapalli to liberate the Indian women from the shackles of inhuman and irrational social practices and to empower women. Trusting in divine providence, Rev. Mother Annammal founded the first community with nine widows on 2nd February, 1858.